Giveaway: Get Organized With YouCopia! Ends 06/25/17

Samples provided.

I’ve been working on a lot of Spring cleaning projects this year as I gear up for a big summer garage sale. One that has been on my list for a very long time is re-organizing the kitchen cabinets. We emptied everything out of the kitchen when we completely re-painted it in 2013, and right before we were finished painting, I left the state to go on a press trip. Jai surprised me by finishing the whole thing by himself and putting the kitchen back together while I was gone, because he is an amazing man! What a relief it was not to come home to a torn up kitchen on top of a huge workload! However, I had intended to go through and get rid of some things and set up a better organizational system before putting the kitchen items away, since we had all this new space created after the remodel from the new cupboards Jai had built. It’s been on my list ever since to go through and get it “Properly” set up, but with my crazy work schedule and traveling constantly, it just never got done. So when I had the opportunity to review a few products from YouCopia, I thought this would be the perfect time to dig in and do some re-organizing in my kitchen cupboards!

YouCopia

YouCopia make clever organizing solutions for the home. I received the StoreMore Bakeware Rack, the StoreMore Lid Holder, and the Drawer StoraStack. These racks and storage units are built with the aim of consolidating common kitchen items to create more space. Sounds good to me!!

Although all three storage sets come flat with some basic assembly required, they fit together pretty much instantly so there’s not much legwork required to get them ready to go. The real work came when it was time to clear out the cabinet and re-organize what was in there…

Kitchen cabinet before
Tupperware cabinet before

I know, I know, it was a wreck. Don’t judge me too hard! ;) I put everything into boxes, gave the cabinet a nice deep-cleaning, and tossed some old items I didn’t need. I then began the process of putting everything back in, using my YouCopia set as a template for where things should go. I started with the Drawer StoraStack for plastic containers, which I actually opted to put in the cabinet although it is meant for use in a drawer. That’s because I have way too much Tupperware to fit into just one drawer…

Drawer StoraStack in cabinet

Holy Tupperware, Batman!! I never realized exactly how many plastic containers I had until this moment. I would probably need at least 3 Drawer StoraStacks to fit all my pieces, and even at that, I have some crazy-large plastic containers that I think defy storage racks! However, this was a great focal point to organize all the containers around. I love that it has slots to fit the lids, since those are usually the most fussy pieces that end up getting lost and disorganized. I had a bit of a hard time getting the square containers to hook onto the StoraStack clips – I’m not sure if I placed them wrong or if the size is off, but it works fine for generally keeping things in place, if not locked in. It wouldn’t make much difference regardless, since there’s so much Tupperware around it, anyway! ;) StoraStack would easily contain the Tupperware collection of a college student, or other sane person with a kitchen. I appreciate the hand it’s given me and will be generous in sending leftovers home in plastic containers with future dinner guests! ;)

StoreMore Bakeware Rack

Next up was the StoreMore Bakeware Rack, which was very straightforward. This gives you a handy place to hold bakeware, and I particularly like it for the cooling racks, since those always seem the most cumbersome to stack on top of each other – having a holder keeps them firmly in place instead of sliding around.

StoreMore Lid Holder

Finally, we have the StoreMore Lid Holder. This is a nice place to put your miscellany lids, and was also the perfect size to hold one of my foldable colanders.

Here’s what the cabinet looks like now:

Kitchen cabinets after

Much better! These YouCopia racks gave me some new ideas and provided a nice backbone from which I can organize the rest of the cabinet. Another Spring cleaning victory!

Giveaway Time!

To help with your Spring cleaning goals, YouCopia are hosting a special giveaway for Contest Corner readers! One lucky winner will receive any YouCopia product of their choice, up to a value of $40! This giveaway ends on June 25th, 2017, and is being administered by YouCopia – please see the widget below for full giveaway rules and to enter:

Win a YouCopia Product of your choice #37

$50 NOVICA Gift Certificate Giveaway – Ends 11/30

Holiday Gift Guide 2016
Gifts For Adults

NOVICA
Gift code provided.

For the 6th consecutive year, I am proud to bring you a wonderful giveaway from one of my favorite online retailers: One lucky Contest Corner reader will win a $50 gift code to NOVICA, so read on!

If you’ve read Contest Corner for very long, then you are already familiar with NOVICA. NOVICA works in association with National Geographic, bringing their customers fabulous handmade products from around the globe. NOVICA’s mission is to bring its artisans fair prices and also help facilitate microfinance artisan loans.

In addition to making for many wonderful gifts, the items I’ve picked up from NOVICA have become a part of my daily life. Just yesterday, I used my leather serving tray from NOVICA to take my homemade bread over to Grandma’s house for our family Thanksgiving. That was the first item I ever reviewed from them back in 2010! I also use my soap dish daily, and was lounging in our hammock earlier in the week. When an item is beautiful, practical, and lasts for years, you know you’ve found a great place to shop!

So for 2016′s haul, I picked up a few items to fill out my Christmas list. I’m almost done with my shopping this year and I’m so proud to be ahead of the curve! ;)

Joyous Owls

These Artisan Crafted Recycled Joyous Owls Paper Ornaments are just the cutest!

Antiqued Brass Horse Coat Rack

I was also charmed by this Antiqued Brass Horse Coat Rack. Both of these items will make perfect Christmas gifts, and even better, they come with free gift wrap so that all I have to do when they get here is stick them under the tree. The holidays just got a whole lot easier!! See for yourself why I love it by visiting NOVICA.com.

Giveaway Time!

One lucky Contest Corner reader will win a $50 gift certificate to NOVICA! Gift certificate will be delivered via email and expires on January 31st, 2017. Enter via the Rafflecopter widget below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rules, regulations, and other important stuff: Giveaway is open residents of the continental US, 18+, and ends on November 30th, 2016 at 11:00 PM PST. Winner will be chosen through Rafflecopter on December 1st and notified via email. Winner has 48 hours to respond to our notification email, or a new winner will be chosen in their place. Void where prohibited. Contest Corner is not responsible for late entries or entries lost due to technical malfunctions. Please see our Privacy Policy and Disclosure for further details on our site’s policies. Sample was provided for review.

UNICEF Market $50 Gift Certificate Giveaway – Ends 11/30

Holiday Gift Guide 2016
Gifts For Adults

UNICEF Market

Gift code provided.

Welcome to Contest Corner’s 8th annual Holiday Gift Guide! Every year, we provide you with a chance to win great holiday gifts for the people on your list. And to start us off for 2016, one lucky Contest Corner reader will win a $50 gift certificate to UNICEF Market!

I’ve featured NOVICA as a gift guide pick several times in the past, so I’m excited to announce their latest partnership with UNICEF to create UNICEF Market. This online marketplace brings customers the best in handcrafted goods from all over the globe, with part of the proceeds going both to the artisans and to UNICEF. A beautiful gift that gives back – that is something that truly fits with the holiday spirit!

Maroon Cotton Blend Cosmetic Cases

I had the opportunity to kick start my holiday shopping at UNICEF Market, and I was spoiled for choice. I decided to pick up a set of these lovely Maroon Cotton Blend Cosmetic Cases from Thailand, as they will be perfect for someone special on my list. Each product page notes what lifesaving supplies can be provided with the purchase price – these cosmetic cases can provide the equivalent of 57 sachets of oral rehydration salts to help children combat dehydration and diarrhea.

Jewelry Travel Roll

I also picked up one of these beautiful Jewelry Travel Rolls, which will be just the thing for a special lady I know that makes her own jewelry. This purchase can provide the equivalent of 12 doses of measles vaccine to children in need. There are a plethora of items for everyone on your list at UNICEF Market, so it’s the perfect place to start your holiday shopping off right!

Curate & Win

Want to enter to win the trip of a lifetime while you take care of your holiday shopping? Through December 31st, you can create a custom curation of items on UNICEF Market as an entry into their sweepstakes to win a trip to Peru – click here to learn more and enter. And you can also click here to check out my 2016 Holiday Gift Guide collection!

Giveaway Time!

One lucky Contest Corner reader will win a $50 gift certificate to UNICEF Market! Gift certificate will be supplied as a code via email to the winner, and will be valid through December 31st, 2016. Enter via the Rafflecopter widget below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rules, regulations, and other important stuff: Giveaway is open residents of the continental US, 18+, and ends on November 30th, 2016 at 11:00 PM PST. Winner will be chosen through Rafflecopter on December 1st and notified via email. Winner has 48 hours to respond to our notification email, or a new winner will be chosen in their place. Void where prohibited. Contest Corner is not responsible for late entries or entries lost due to technical malfunctions. Please see our Privacy Policy and Disclosure for further details on our site’s policies. Sample was provided for review.

Keep Your New Year’s Resolution With The EatSmart Precision CalPal Digital Bathroom Scale

EatSmart Precision CalPal Digital Bathroom Scale

Sample provided.

Before the initial glow of making your New Year’s resolution starts to fade, it’s important to put plans and reminders in place to help you keep on track. One simple thing that I do for my fitness goals is to have a set weigh-in day each week, which I log into my Fitbit app. I thrive on consistency and routine, so this is something easy I can do to keep tabs on where I’m at and what my goals are.

I’ve loved EatSmart scales for years now – I reviewed one of their scales back in 2012, and the measuring tape it came with is something I use every time I need to take my body measurements – be it for health monitoring or sizing clothes! Their Digital Kitchen Scale has also been a permanent fixture in my kitchen for the last four years, weighing everything from food portions to letters and packages for the post office! EatSmart products not only work well, but they are made with the highest quality and will last you for years. Plus, their products are always affordable – trust me, I’ve bought brand new scales in a similar price range prior to learning of EatSmart, and they were not as accurate and did not have the same durability. Just click here to see a comparison I did!

My current EatSmart scale of choice is their Precision CalPal Digital Bathroom Scale. This scale has some cool features that make it easy to track different data. In addition to your weight, it also displays your BMI and the estimated amount of caloric intake needed to maintain your current weight. To get these readings, you enter some basic details into the scale such as your gender, height, activity level – this is very simple to do using the buttons on the side of the scale. You can store up to four different profiles on the scale, which is perfect for our household, since both Jai and I track our weight. It recognizes you by weight when you step on the scale in order to display and calculate the data.

CalPal Digital Scale

It’s so handy having your BMI calculated on the fly along with weight. The caloric estimate is a helpful average for your goals, whether you want to maintain your current weight or decide to eat under that amount to cut calories and lose weight. The scale is extremely solid and reliable, with a long-lasting battery. It’s also consistent with the number I get when I weigh myself on other scales such as at the gym, so I can feel confident that I’m recording accurate data. There is a reason why I have been using EatSmart scales exclusively since 2012, and it’s because they work so well and last for years and years. And since New Year’s resolutions are about making long-lasting change, I can’t think of a better accessory to choose!

Get the latest on EatSmart’s innovations by following them on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and Pinterest.

NOVICA $50 Gift Certificate Giveaway – Ends 11/30

Gifts For Adults

Holiday Gift Guide 2015

NOVICA
Gift code provided.

I’ve been a fan of NOVICA for over 5 years now, so I’m very pleased to be including them in this year’s Gift Guide once again. One lucky Contest Corner reader will win a $50 gift code to NOVICA, so read on!

If you haven’t yet been introduced to NOVICA, allow me to give you a brief overview: NOVICA works with National Geographic to provide handcrafted products from all over the globe. Their goal is to provide fair prices to the artisans creating these products and further support their businesses by also providing 0% finance loans in association with Kiva. Every product listed on NOVICA has an “About The Artist” section, which is also included in a storycard shipped with every product.

Back in 2010, I picked up a leather tray from NOVICA that I have been using ever since. In fact, I was just using it as a photo prop a few weeks back when I made a swirled chocolate pound cake recipe for MomStart!

Swirled Chocolate Pound Cake

In 2013, I got a set of 6 martini glasses that I gave as a wedding present. They were a hit – in fact, I ended up using them to serve Lemon Drop Martinis during the bachelorette party that I hosted for the bride-to-be!

Lemon Drop Martini

Over the years, I’ve snagged some other fun items from NOVICA such as a hammock and the soap dish that is in my bathroom. Knowing how I’ve enjoyed these items over the years and what great gifts they have made, I was excited to do some Christmas shopping from them this year!

Cotton handbag, 'Akha Life'Tie Dye Scarf, 'Mottled Black'

This time around, I got two Christmas presents for someone special on my list: This Cotton handbag, ‘Akha Life’ and this Tie Dye Scarf in Mottled Black. They will be perfect for the person I have in mind, and they even come with free gift wrap and a personalized gift message card, meaning they will be ready to gift as soon as they arrive at my door! It doesn’t get better than that for holiday shopping!

With products ranging from Men’s Bracelets to Amethyst Rings, Chandelier Earrings and Ponchos, there is something for everyone on your list. Click here to check out their new arrivals, and be sure to follow them on Facebook, Twitter, Google+ and Pinterest.

Giveaway Time!

One lucky Contest Corner reader will win a $50 Gift Certificate to NOVICA! The gift certificate may be applied to both product and shipping. Gift certificate will be supplied as a code via email to the winner, and will be valid through December 31st, 2015. Enter via the Rafflecopter widget below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rules, regulations, and other important stuff: Giveaway is open residents of the continental US, 18+, and ends on November 30th, 2015 at 11:00 PM PST. Winner will be chosen through Rafflecopter on December 1st and notified via email. Winner has 48 hours to respond to our notification email, or a new winner will be chosen in their place. Void where prohibited. Contest Corner is not responsible for late entries or entries lost due to technical malfunctions. Please see our Privacy Policy and Disclosure for further details on our site’s policies. Sample was provided for review.

History’s First Coffee Blend Giveaway – Ends 11/30

Gifts For Adults

Holiday Gift Guide 2015

Coffee beans

Sample provided.

It’s that time again: We’re kicking off this year’s Holiday Gift Guide! One lucky Contest Corner reader will win a History’s First Coffee Blend set, so read on!

I’m a fan of the World Vision Gift Catalog. I’ve featured their wares on here before, so I’m pleased to bring your attention to the 2015 World Vision Gift Catalog, which features 250 socially-responsible products in all types and price ranges that help to make the world a better place.

History’s First Coffee Blend

My favorite this year is History’s First Coffee Blend, a fair trade, organic blend of coffee with notes of chocolate and citrus sourced from Ethiopian Yirgacheffe and Sumatra Permata Gayo farmers. With your donation of $75, you receive a 16 oz bag of this coffee packaged in a pretty African bag with an Olivewood scoop. This coffee is fantastic – it’s a late night, so I’m actually enjoying a cup as I drink this! – and it would be a fantastic gift for any coffee lover on your list. Not only does your recipient get to enjoy this wonderful set, but also the knowledge that this gift is helping to improve lives.

Check out the World Vision Gift Catalog for all your gifting needs, and be sure to learn more about their work by following World Vision on Facebook and on Twitter at @WorldVisionNews and @WorldVisionUSA.

Giveaway Time!

One lucky Contest Corner reader will win the History’s First Coffee Blend set from the 2015 World Vision Gift Catalog! Enter through the Rafflecopter widget below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rules, regulations, and other important stuff: Giveaway is open residents of the continental US, 18+, and ends on November 30th, 2015 at 11:00 PM PST. Winner will be chosen through Rafflecopter on December 1st and notified via email. Winner has 48 hours to respond to our notification email, or a new winner will be chosen in their place. Void where prohibited. Contest Corner is not responsible for late entries or entries lost due to technical malfunctions. Please see our Privacy Policy and Disclosure for further details on our site’s policies. Sample was provided for review.

Kushyfoot Spring Collection Giveaway – Ends 4/30

Kushyfoot Spring Collection

Samples provided.

It’s no secret how much I love Kushyfoot. I wear their socks constantly – they have become a must-have for my professional wardrobe, as their foot covers are truly a foot saver underneath my business shoes. From keeping my feet clean while walking through airport security, to keeping the back of my heels from being rubbed raw after a long day on my feet at press events, Kushyfoot are the cute and practical sock every business traveler needs. I’ve worn my favorite pair so much that they started to get a hole, so I had recently added “Kushyfoot” to my shopping list. So what better timing to find out about Kushyfoot’s new product line for Spring!

Kushyfoot New Products

The new Peep Toe and Lace Top Toe Covers are just thing for open toed shoes, while the Foot Cover with Cotton Sole is another great take on my classic “Business shoe” staple. Psst…I’m actually writing this from a train on my way to Seattle, and I’m wearing them as we speak!

Another staple for this business trip was the Extreme Low Cut Foot Covers, which have a pretty lace-style pattern. The Ultra Low Cut Foot Covers are also a popular product, although I personally tend to find them to be too tight for my feet.

I’m also really loving the Athletic Cushioned Foot Covers, which actually work great with my dress shoes because of the cut. They’re thick enough to be very comfy and give my feet padding during long days, without being too thick to fit inside my shoes. Love it!!

Also new is the Knee High With Cotton Sole, a sheer sock with a nice massaging sole. I accessorized it with a casual dress last weekend! I also really like the Sheer Anklet. My Spring wardrobe is off to a great start thanks to Kushyfoot!

Get the latest looks from Kushyfoot by following them on Facebook and Twitter.

Giveaway Time!

One lucky Contest Corner reader will win the following products from Kushyfoot: Peep Toe Foot Covers, Lace Top Toe Covers, Athletic Cushioned Foot Covers, Ultra Low Cut Foot Covers, Extreme Low Cut Foot Covers, Foot Cover with Cotton Sole, Knee High With Cotton Sole, and Sheer Anklet. Substitutions unlikely, but may apply. Enter this giveaway via the Rafflecopter widget below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rules, regulations, and other important stuff: Giveaway is open residents of the continental US, 18+, and ends on April 30th, 2014 at 11:00 PM PST. Winner will be chosen through Rafflecopter the following day and notified via email. Winner has 48 hours to respond to our notification email, or a new winner will be chosen in their place. Void where prohibited. Contest Corner is not responsible for late entries or entries lost due to technical malfunctions. Please see our Privacy Policy and Disclosure for further details on our site’s policies. Sample was provided for review.

Mythbusters 10th Anniversary Collection DVD Review

Mythbusters

Promotional copy provided.

Mythbusters is one of those shows that feels like it’s been on forever, so I guess I’m not surprised that they’ve already hit the 10 year milestone. If you’ve never seen this show, it’s a fun watch: The cast test out popular myths, like “Can cockroaches survive radiation?”, by using creative experiments to test out the theory. One of my best friends loves this show so I knew their new DVD set would be the perfect gift for her!

Mythbusters: 10th Anniversary Collection is a 10-DVD set, featuring 50 episodes hand-picked by the cast. Although it’s a large set, the package is compact and slim, so it won’t take up a lot of space – not that fancy box sets aren’t cool, but sometimes space is a consideration!

Mythbusters DVD set

Jamie, Adam, Kari, Grant, and Tory are given 2 DVDs each, featuring episodes which they felt were most memorable. There are hours of entertainment and fun on here! I would have loved to maybe get some commentary from the cast on why they chose these episodes (I didn’t see any special features on this set), but then again, most of the episodes speak for themselves in terms of memorability – like the “Zombie Special” where they have a crowd of actors pretend to be zombies in order to test out different “Survival” theories! Hahaha! This DVD set would be an excellent gift for any fan of the show.

The Mythbusters: 10th Anniversary Collection DVD set is available for $99.99 on Discovery.com.

BassBuds & BassBoomz: Two Favorites, Revisited

Samples provided.

One of the cool things about blogging for so long is that I have an easy reference to past memories and useful information. Just yesterday, I did a search on one of my blogs to pull up a recipe I made 6 years ago! With all the reviews I’ve written over the years, it’s nice when I get to provide our readers with an update on something that I’ve been using for a long time. Take, for example, our friends over at BassBuds. I was first introduced to these earbuds in 2012, and also tried out their wireless speaker, BassBoomz, in 2013. These products have been a fixture in our house ever since, so I jumped at the chance to work with them again!

Jai absolutely loved the first pair of BassBuds I gave him. He wore them everywhere – here’s a photo of him wearing his BassBuds during an errand 2 years ago! – dragging them through construction sites and putting them through all kinds of wear and tear. He has forgotten to take them out of his pants pocket and actually run them through the washing machine multiple times! As Jai put it, his BassBuds took the roughest treatment any headphones could have the misfortune of enduring. And even after all that, they still worked well until a few months ago, when they started to click a little in one ear. I’m amazed that they didn’t get destroyed during the first run through the washing machine, so full kudos to BassBuds for being sturdy!! “Oh the horrors these have seen,” Jai said to me.

BassBuds

So, when he mentioned to me that he needed to replace his earbuds, I thought this was the perfect opportunity to get him the latest and greatest pair of his favorite brand, BassBuds! I received this pair of BassBuds from the Fashion Collection, the “Eclectic” model. These earphones have a pink aluminum casing, a blue Swarovski Elements center, and removable orange earbuds.

BassBuds Eclectic

And no, the fact that they’re pink doesn’t bother Jai. These earbuds will look great with his ripped cargo pants as he drags tools through the mud on his many different projects. ;) As usual, BassBuds deliver in sound quality. The pause and play buttons are right on a controller on the wire, meaning you can control what you’re listening to easily without digging through your pocket; you can also use BassBuds to make calls. He also really appreciates that BassBuds come with a bag full of alternative ear bud styles and shapes, so you can switch them out to whatever is most comfortable for your ears. Jai says that if your ears can take any form of earbuds, these will work. (I have freaky ears, apparently, since earbuds always fall out of mine, ha ha!)

BassBoomz

I also received the latest BassBoomz in a fetching gold color. These are great little speakers and it’s fun to have a couple since we have more than one Bluetooth-compatible device. They pair up with new devices so easily, making it effortless to use – Jai can keep one in the car and one at home, or move them around different rooms. As always, BassBoomz packs a nice little sound punch for such a small speaker.

BassBoomz Gold

I’m so glad to have been introduced to this line and have certainly gotten a lot of use out of their products these last few years. Now that we have new BassBuds and BassBoomz to add to our collection, we will get even more years of use out of these excellent products!

BassBuds Eclectic retail for $85, while BassBoomz Gold is available for $130. Check out the full range at BassBuds.net/USA, and get more information by following them on Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram.

Fair-Trade Coffee Set Giveaway – Ends 11/30

Gifts For Adults

Holiday Gift Guide 2014

Fair-Trade Coffee Set

Sample provided.

When you find a gift that is practical, yet beautifully presented, you’ve got a great find. And when that same gift gives back and helps create a better world – you’ve got the perfect present! One lucky Contest Corner reader will win a Fair-Trade Coffee Set from the 2014 World Vision Gift Catalog, so read on!

I am always so happy when I receive coffee as a gift – I go through coffee beans like nobody’s business, so it’s a really thoughtful gift – plus it gives me a chance to try new varieties! That alone would had been enough for me to love this wonderful coffee set I received, packaged in a lovely little bag with a wooden coffee scooper. But that isn’t the best thing about this little item.

Coffee beans

This Fair-Trade Coffee Set comes from the 2014 World Vision Gift Catalog, with the proceeds benefiting the charity’s work helping children and their families living in poverty. The set includes a 12 oz bag of coffee from OneCup.org packaged in a hand-sewn gift bag; also included is a hand-carved Olivewood coffee scoop. This combination gift-and-charitable-donation is available for $65, and would be a wonderful treat for any coffee lover on your list. You can feel great buying it because you know that your holiday shopping dollars are going towards helping others – now that is the true holiday spirit!

If coffee isn’t your thing, there are a plethora of other options available in the Gift Catalog, from jewelry to kitchen items. Check it out today, and be sure to “Like” World Vision on Facebook and follow them on Twitter.

Giveaway Time!

One lucky Contest Corner reader will win this Fair-Trade Coffee Set from the 2014 World Vision Gift Catalog! Enter through the Rafflecopter widget below:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rules, regulations, and other important stuff: Giveaway is open residents of the continental US, 18+, and ends on November 30th, 2014 at 11:00 PM PST. Winner will be chosen through Rafflecopter the following day and notified via email. Winner has 48 hours to respond to our notification email, or a new winner will be chosen in their place. Void where prohibited. Contest Corner is not responsible for late entries or entries lost due to technical malfunctions. Please see our Privacy Policy and Disclosure for further details on our site’s policies. Sample was provided for review.